Laura Hughes

Laura Hughes produces engaging works of fantasy fiction set against a backdrop of magical worlds
and richly drawn characters that teach young people to develop determination and the ability to
overcome challenges.

In the tradition of Lord Of The Rings and Harry Potter, she builds entire worlds peopled with
heroic role models that young readers find irresistible.


CTA Button


The Sara Chronicles
The Beginning - Book 1

Someone had made a terrible mistake twelve years ago and placed a homeless child in the care of Janet and Hugh Finklestein. This child's name was Sara. She knew nothing of her life before the Finklestein's, just that life with them was miserable. They didn't feed her, didn't love her and pretty much left her to fend for herself. Sara's life changes dramatically one day when she is transported to the Land of the Keepers, a strange place where nothing is quite what it seems, and danger is around every bend.
Sara is told by the Keepers that an evil group called the Garren have been causing trouble in the land. People have been disappearing, those that are left have begun to change dramatically from kind and loving neighbors to hateful, violent bullies. Sara is told that she has special powers given to her at birth that will help save these people. So not only does she have to discover what the power is, she has to find two children just like her who will help complete this enormous responsibility.



The Sara Chronicles
Evolution Of Us - Book 2

A year after restoring the balance of good and evil to the magical Land of the Keepers, young Sara, James, and Thomas are laying low-living separately to protect them from the vanquished members of Garren that they helped defeat. But it's not the only danger they face. Suddenly, the magical powers they possess begin to possess them. Sara's the first to notice: her powers now include the ability to control weather. But as she begins to use them, the powers run amok, leaving a trail of freak snowstorms and record heat waves. Meanwhile, people around them are mysteriously disappearing-simply vanishing into thin air. Now, the three of them must reunite in the Land of the Keepers to learn to control their awesome powers and fix whatever is stealing people away.



The Sara Chronicles
The Return - Book 3

A golden-haired girl named Sara lies in a deep sleep. It has been four years since the evil Braccus entered her mind, making it impossible to communicate with her friends without pain and nausea; worse, she was absorbing the powers of other children when she came in contact with them. Sara had been afraid and alone when Olie, her good friend and mentor, stepped in to ease her suffering with a sleeping spell. Many changes have occurred while Sara has been comatose. Some of the members of her small, gifted group of friends-drawn together by their special abilities-have changed and, in some cases, moved on without her. Braccus is still causing trouble and attempting to gain control of the worlds, but Sara has become more powerful and unpredictable while in her sleep state. What powers will she wield when she awakes, and how will Sara deal with becoming a young woman left behind by the world she knew?



The Sara Chronicles
Chaos, Confusion and Changing Of The Guard - Book 4

As the nefarious Braccus consolidates his armies of evil, the forces of good are in disarray. Unity among the safeguarding Keepers and the ones they are sworn to protect is elusive, and each of the critical groups of three is struggling to find each other-and stay alive. That's just the way Braccus likes it. With unparalleled strategic skill, he's managed to make evil the dominant power in the worlds. Bizarre races of the horrifying creatures he controls are wreaking havoc on the innocent villagers, killing them for sport or turning them into Braccus's slaves. Good has been relegated to the shadows. Meanwhile, Sara, James and Thomas are facing their greatest challenges yet. For one of them, it will mean actually merging with the evil scourge; for another, a hideous prophecy foretells certain doom. But all of them must race against time if there's any hope for saving the innocents of the worlds from Braccus's eternal rule. Can they accomplish their tasks before it is too late?



The Sara Chronicles
The Great Unknown and All That Lies Beneath It - Book 5

It was written long ago in the books of creation. Since the beginning of time good and evil have shared the worlds with a kind of uneasy understanding that each must exist to balance the other out. Many changes have occurred with the Keepers and suddenly they find themselves on the losing side of the scale. Evil has now taken control of the surface of the worlds, all seven of them, and all that is good has now been forced below to hide in caves and wait for their chance to fight back. The older Keepers are dying off. Sara, Thomas and James have gone to the afterlife to find a way to defeat Braccus, leaving Alice, Randall, Eric, Finola, Vincent and Franklin as the new guardians of what is left of the civilized worlds. The surface is ruined, everything is dead or dying. How can the Keepers make a difference after death and save what is left of the human population from the monsters that now roam the surface, restlessly seeking a way to get below and finish destroying the people hidden there



The Sara Chronicles
Into Darkness We Go - Up Above And Down Below - Book 6

The surface worlds have been destroyed and evil is in control of them. All the good souls are hidden underground, chased there by horrible monsters that killed their friends and family members as they watched. Traumatized, they wait for someone to come and rescue them. Out of the seven worlds, only two are aware that the Keepers exist. The Keepers have to walk into uncertain situations with panicked survivors while Sara, Thomas, and James, still trapped in the afterworld continue to search for the objects that are the key to Braccus's downfall. These three bright souls wander in the darkest part of the afterworld among the ugliest thoughts ever let loose from Braccus's mind, fighting to make their way back from death to rescue the living.




The Sara Chronicles
Stories New - Stories Old - Things Re-written
and Things Foretold- Book 7

There have always been two versions of the fate of the worlds - one is written in a light volume authored by Iam creator of all that is good and the other in a dark book authored by Braccus - the embodiment of all evil. The endings of both books are fluid and ever-changing, the outcome being uncertain - and in this last great battle of both entities - it is winner take all. Sara, Thomas and James are dead-stuck in the afterworld fighting Braccus’s evil thoughts and lost souls while trying to find their way back to their, currently un-occupied bodies somewhere far below them. With only the idea that it might be possible to live again, they race toward a sweet, loving voice guiding them down to an uncertain future with the promise of renewal and a chance to be useful to the embattled worlds again. That voice belongs to Marlaina - the Keeper whose voice can call souls back to their bodies and restore life. She is but one of the brave Keepers who dwell in the seven worlds, fighting daily to stay alive and protect the helpless survivors of a planet whose surface has been destroyed. Though the refugees have existed underground for four long years, made comfortable by the gifts of The Keepers, Braccus has been busy re-writing their fate. In order to protect the hidden members of humanity- The Keepers have to return to the surface and engage in battle in places that only exist in nightmares, battling deadly creatures Braccus is creating on a daily basis. With no guarantee they will succeed in their mission, they fight on to reclaim Iam’s worlds and protect the humans he loves so dearly. Sara’s return is their last great hope - but the dead, like the living, having chosen sides and will fight just as fiercely to conquer their foes. Join the adventure in The Sara Chronicles Book Seven - Stories New - Stories Old - Things Re-written and Things Foretold.




A Message From Laura Hughes


As an author - I am excited to share my imagination with others. There are worlds and characters in my mind that just have to come out and see the light of day and express themselves to reader. I want you as my readers to experience all the special characters in my books. I want you to be aware of where they came from and how their struggles started. I want you to know why they left or were taken from their families and why they had to do what they did in order to survive.

I want to take you to magical lands and have you cheer these young heroes through all their successes and worry about their safety through all their failures, for in them, is a little bit of all of you. Circumstances may differ somewhat in each person’s life, but there are things that we face on a daily basis that challenge us to persevere and overcome, you are all heroes in your own story.

I want to take you on a journey with these, very human characters that just happen to possess special abilities, and engage you in their story until the very end. So join me for a tale of magic, monsters, legends and high adventure- I would be so pleased to have you there.

Contact Laura

* indicates required field